The five-member Board of Supervisors, created by the state Legislature in 1852, is the governing body of the County of Los Angeles. Along with the Board, the voters of LA County elect an Assessor, District Attorney, and Sheriff. As a subdivision of the state, the County is charged with providing numerous services that affect the lives of all residents.