
If the government declares
an emergency, increasing the price of goods
and services more than 10% within 30 days

 may be a crime.

WHEN A DISASTER STRIKES

Businesses may not increase the price of goods
and services more than 10% after a declared 
emergency unless they can prove the price
increase is due to their suppliers' increase in
price.  

If you offer contractor related services,
your prices may not increase by more than 10%
for 180 days after an emergency is declared. 

PREVENT PRICE
GOUGING

RIGHTS & RESPONSIBILITIES1
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Contact us at (800) 593-8222 if you have
questions about your rights and responsibilities
under the California Price Gouging law.

Maintain detailed records of your pricing for
consumer goods and/or services before, during
and after the declared emergency. 

Failure to comply with the California Price
Gouging law (Penal Code 396) can result in fines 
of up to $10,000 or one year in jail, or both.

DCBA.LACOUNTY.GOV ● (800) 593-8222

RISK OF PRICE GOUGING

PROTECT YOUR BUSINESS

QUESTIONS?
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